Alpha Omega Alpha

Alpha Omega Alpha (AΩA) is the only national medical honor society in the world. It was founded in 1902 in order to recognize and perpetuate excellence in the medical profession. AΩA at the George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences is the oldest chapter in Washington, D.C., founded in 1954. Senior medical students are elected to the honor society based on their academic performance, extracurricular activities, research endeavors, and commitment to the community. In addition, each chapter of AΩA elects deserving house staff, full-time faculty, and medical school alumni each year.

Each year the students selected for induction organize tutorial services for underclassmen in academic need, volunteer at community-based medical clinics and collect residency interview experiences for our GW AΩA Guide to the 4th year, an ongoing service project to the school.

Students, alumni, faculty, and house staff are officially inducted into AΩA just prior to the medical school graduation ceremony in May.

Currently, Dr. Alan Wasserman is GW's AΩA counselor and Dr. Angelike Liappis is the chapter's secretary.

Alpha Omega Alpha Class of 2019

Al-Beyati, Refka Beatson, Meghan
Berrigan, Margaret Boortalary, Tina
Braverman, Stephanie Breen, Leah
Chaili, Siyang Cohen, Jordan
Delgado, Arlin Fahoome, Danielle
Flynn, Erin F Gibby, Jacob
Greenfest, Adam Ijaz, Hamza
Jagannatham, Shobha Johny, Angeline
Kinnard, Matthew Koppen, Annika
Langerman, Steven Mandelbaum, Max
Marks, Dustin Mazhar, Momina
Mele, Kyle Parenti, Vincent
Robinson, Noel Hannah Swenson, Samuel
Thomas, Janelle Vora, Darshan

2019 Inductees

2019 Faculty Inductees

  • Vittorio Gallo, PhDProfessor of Pediatrics, Chief Research Officer, CNHS and Associate Dean for Child Health Research, GWU
  • Laura Tosi, MD Associate Professor Orthopedic Surgery and Pediatrics, GWU and Director, Bone Health Program, CNHS
  • Cindy Tracy, MDProfessor of Medicine, Director Cardiovascular Services GWUH and Associate Chief, Division of Cardiology, MFA

2019 House Staff Inductees

  • Campbell Grant, MDPGY5, Chief Resident, Urology, GWU
  • Cheralyn Hendrix, MDPGY4, General Surgery, GWU
  • Evan Kuhl MD PGY4, Chief Resident Emergency Medicine, GWU
  • Gregor Werba, MD PGY3, General Surgery, GWU

2019 Alumni Inductees

  • Gail Rosseau, MD (GWUSMHS 85’, GWRES 86’,91’)

2019 Voluntary Clinical Faculty Award

  • Randi Abramson, MD