SMHS Leadership

Dean of the School

Dean Barbara Lee Bass, MD, posing for a headshot

Barbara Lee Bass, MD, RESD '86
Vice President for Health Affairs,
Dean, School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Chief Executive Officer, The GW Medical Faculty Associates
Email: smhsdean@gwu.edu

Chief of Staff:
Sharon Boyd
Phone: 202-994-9518
Email: sboyd@gwu.edu

Special Assistant to the Dean and
Vice President for Health Affairs:

Kristin Furio
Phone: 202-994-5607
Email: kfurio@gwu.edu

Vice Dean

Robert H. Miller, PhD poses for a headshot

Robert H. Miller, PhD
Vivian Gill Distinguished Research Professor
Vice Dean
Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology
Phone: 202-994-6985
Email: rhm3@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Sara VanDommelen
Research Administrator
Phone: 202-994-6985
Email: slv15@gwu.edu

Senior Associate Deans

Alison Hall, PhD, poses for a headshot

Alison Hall, PhD
Senior Associate Dean for Research (Interim)
Phone: (202) 994-0200
Email: akhall@gwu.edu

Yolanda Haywood, MD, poses for headshot

Yolanda Haywood, MD, RESD ’87
Senior Associate Dean for Diversity & Faculty Affairs
Phone: 202-994-4242
Email: yhaywood@gwu.edu

Administrative Supervisor:
LaQuita Ross
Phone: 202-994-2170
Fax: 202-994-0926
Email: lbeale@gwu.edu

LaQuandra S. Nesbitt, MD, MPH, poses for a headshot

LaQuandra S. Nesbitt, MD, MPH
Senior Associate Dean for Population Health Sciences and Health Equity
Bicentennial Endowed Professor of Medicine and Health Sciences
Executive Director, Center for Population Health Sciences and Health Equity
Phone: 202-994-2323
Email: laquandra.nesbitt@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Hannah Williams, MS, MPH
Senior Center Administrator Center for Population Health Sciences and Health Equity
Phone: 202-994-1298
Email: hmwilliams@gwu.edu

Richard J. Simons, MD, poses for a headshot

Richard J. Simons, MD
Senior Associate Dean for MD Programs
Email: rsimons@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Kimberly Kennedy
Executive Assistant
Phone: 202-994-2927
Email: kimberly.kennedy@gwu.edu

Deans

Anthony Artino, PhD, poses for a headshot

Anthony R. Artino, Jr., PhD
Associate Dean for Educational Research
Co-Director, Academy of Education Scholars
Professor of Health, Human Function, and Rehabilitation Sciences
Professor of Medicine (secondary)
Email: aartino@gwu.edu

Huda M. Ayas, EdD, poses for a headshot

Huda M. Ayas, EdD ’06, MBA ’98, MHSA ’93
Associate Dean for International Medicine
Executive Director, Office of International Medicine Programs
Phone: (202) 994-2796
Email: hayas@gwu.edu
 

Administrative Support:
Eva Bacskai
Program Associate
International Medicine Programs
Phone: (202) 994-2796
Email: eva.bacskai@gwu.edu

Jennifer Berkeley, MD, PhD

Jennifer Berkeley, MD, PhD
Assistant Dean for Research, Regional Medical Campus
Clinical Associate Professor of Neurology and Rehabilitation Medicine
Email: jennifer.berkeley@gwu.edu

George Washington headshot

Karla Bartholomew, PhD, JD, MPH, PA
Assistant Dean for Clinical Public Health
Phone: (202) 994-6486
Email: kbartholomew@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Hannah Williams, MS, MPH
Senior Administrative Assistant - Clinical Public Health
Phone: (202) 994 1298
Email: hwilliams@gwu.edu

Catherine Bollard, MD

Catherine Bollard, MD
Associate Center Director for Translational Research and Innovation, GW Cancer Center
Interim Chair of the Department of Pediatrics
Associate Dean for Pediatric Academic Affairs
Professor of Pediatrics
Email: cbollard@gwu.edu

Jillian Catalanotti, MD, MPH

Jillian Catalanotti, MD, MPH
Associate Dean for Clinical Public Health and Population Health Practice
Professor of Medicine
Professor of Health Policy and Management
Email: jcatalanotti@mfa.gwu.edu

Steven Davis, MD, poses for a headshot

Steven Davis, MD
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Email: spdavis@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Sherry Brody
Executive Coordinator for Year III
Phone: 202-994-2202
Email: sherrybrody@gwu.edu

Harold A. Frazier, II, MD, poses for a headshot

Harold A. Frazier, II, MD
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Phone: (202) 994-3737
Email: hfrazier@gwu.edu

Vittorio Gallo, PhD, poses for a headshot

Vittorio Gallo, PhD
Associate Dean for Child Health Research
Email: vgallo@childrensnational.org

Rhonda M. Goldberg, MA, poses for a headshot

Rhonda M. Goldberg, MA
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-3176
Email: rmgoldb@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Valerie Espinoza Chowdhury
Executive Coordinator for Years I & II
Phone: (202) 994-3176
Email: vespinoza@gwu.edu 

Pritha Ghosh, MD, poses for a headshot

Pritha Ghosh, MD
Assistant Dean of Student Affairs for SMHS MD Program
Email: pghosh@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Gabriela Macias
Administrative Associate
Phone: 202-994-1637
Email: gabriela.macias@gwu.edu

Grace E. Henry, EdD, poses for a headshot

Grace E. Henry, EdD
Assistant Dean for Diversity & Inclusion
Phone: (202) 994-4317
Email: henryg@gwu.edu

Candice Johnson poses for a headshot

Candice Johnson
Associate Dean, Academic Affairs and Enrollment Management
Phone: (202) 994-0412
Email: candicej@gwu.edu

Robert Jablonover, MD, poses for a headshot

Robert Jablonover, MD
Assistant Dean for Pre-Clinical Education
Phone: 202-994-9475
Email: rjablono@gwu.edu

Terry Kind, MD, MPH, poses for a headshot

Terry Kind, MD, MPH
Associate Dean for Clinical Education
Phone: 202-994-9587
Email: tkind@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Kimberly Kennedy
Executive Assistant
Phone: 202-994-2927
Email: kimberly.kennedy@gwu.edu

Ioannis Koutroulis, MD, PhD, MBA, poses for a headshot

Ioannis Koutroulis, MD, PhD, MBA
Interim Associate Dean of Admissions for the MD Program
Phone: (202) 994-3749
Email: medadmit@gwu.edu

Laurie B. Lyons, MA, poses for a headshot

Laurie B. Lyons, MA
Assistant Dean, Academic Planning and Curriculum Management
Phone: (202) 994-8376
Email: lbl@gwu.edu

Trudy Mallinson, PhD, poses for a headshot

Trudy Mallinson, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA
Associate Dean for Health Sciences Research
Phone: (202) 994-6833
Email: trudy@gwu.edu

Joyce Maring

Joyce Maring, EdD, DPT
Executive Associate Dean for Health Sciences Director
Doctor of Health Sciences Program
Professor of Health, Human Function, & Rehabilitation Sciences
Phone: (202) 994-0053
Email: maringj@gwu.edu

Lorenzo Norris, MD, poses for a headshot

Lorenzo Norris, MD
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Email: norrismd@gwu.edu

Registration Associate:
Jessie Guillaume
Phone: 202-994-3273
Email: jguillaume21@email.gwu.edu

George Washington headshot

Nancy Rambo, MBA
Assistant Dean Finance and Principal Business Officer
Finance Director - Research Investment, Strategy & Operations
Phone: 202-994-5818
Email: nrambo@gwu.edu

 

Stephanie Sarandos, MA

Stephanie Sarandos, MA
Assistant Dean for Evaluation
Email: sarandos@email.gwu.edu

M. Lourdes Winberry, MPH, poses for a headshot

M. Lourdes Winberry, MPH
Associate Dean for Health Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-0149
Email: lourdesw@gwu.edu