SMHS Leadership

Leadership
Jeffrey Akman

Jeffrey S. Akman, M.D. '81, RESD '85
Vice President for Health Affairs,
Walter A. Bloedorn Professor of Administrative Medicine, and
Dean, School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Phone: (202) 994-3727
Email: smhsdean@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Marie Donohue
Executive Coordinator
Phone: (202) 994-4356
Email: mcdonohue@gwu.edu

Huda Ayas

Huda M. Ayas, Ed.D. ’06, M.B.A. ’98, M.H.S.A. ’93
Associate Dean for International Medicine
Executive Director, Office of International Medicine Programs
Phone: (202) 994-2796
Email: hayas@gwu.edu
 

Administrative Support:
Stephanie Asher
Executive Support Assistant II
Phone: (202) 994-2796
Email: saasher@gwu.edu

Anne Banner

Anne Banner
Executive Director, Office of Communications and Marketing
Phone: (202) 994-2261
Email: abanner@gwu.edu

Mark Batshaw

Mark L. Batshaw, M.D.
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, 
Children's National Health System
Phone: (202) 476-4007
Email: mbatshaw@cnmc.org

Reamer Bushardt

Reamer L. Bushardt, Pharm.D., PA-C, DFAAPA
Senior Associate Dean for Health Sciences
Phone: (202) 994-5129
Email: rbushardt@gwu.edu

Katherine Chretien

Katherine Chretien, M.D.
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Email: kchretie@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Bedig Galladian
Executive Coordinator for Year III
Phone: (202) 994-2202
Email: bgalladian@gwu.edu

Mary Corcoran

Mary A. Corcoran, Ph.D., OT/L, FAOTA
Associate Dean for Faculty Development for Health Sciences
Phone: (202) 994-8229
Email: corcoran@gwu.edu

Jeffrey Berger

Jeffrey Berger M.D., M.B.A.
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Phone: (202) 994-3737
Email: jberger2@gwu.edu

Lawrence Deyton

Lawrence "Bopper" Deyton, M.D. ’85, MSPH
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Public Health
Email: ldeyton@gwu.edu

Sidney Fu

Sidney W. Fu, M.D., Ph.D.
Senior Advisor to the Vice President for Health Affairs on China Initiatives
Phone: (202) 994-4767
Email: sfu@gwu.edu

Rhonda Goldberg

Rhonda M. Goldberg, M.A.
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-3176
Email: rmgoldb@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Ali Johnson
Executive Coordinator for Years I & II
Phone: (202) 994-3176
Email: a_johnson@gwu.edu

Catherine Golden

Catherine Golden, Ed.D., M.P.A.
Associate Dean for Academic Planning and Assessment
Phone: (202) 994-3564
Email: cagw@gwu.edu

Ellen Goldman

Ellen F. Goldman, Ed.D., M.B.A.
Assistant Dean for Faculty and Curricular Development in Medical Education
Phone: (202) 994-4004
Email: egoldman@gwu.edu

Walter Harris, M.B.A, P.M.P

Walter Harris, M.B.A, P.M.P
Senior Associate Dean for Administration and Operations
Phone: (202) 994-3727
Email: wharris82916@gwu.edu

Dean Haywood

Yolanda Haywood, M.D., RESD ’87
Associate Dean for Diversity, Inclusion, and Student Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-2987
Email: yhaywood@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:

LaQuita Ross
Executive Coordinator for Curricular Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-2170
Fax: (202) 994-0926
Email: lbeale@gwu.edu

Terry Kind

Terry Kind, M.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Dean for Clinical Education
Phone: 202-994-9587
Email: tkind@gwu.edu

Ray Lucas

Ray Lucas, M.D.
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development
Phone: (202) 994-2966
Email: rlucas@gwu.edu

Diane McQuail

Diane McQuail, M.A.
Associate Dean of Admissions for the M.D. Program
Phone: (202) 994-3749
Email: medadmit@gwu.edu

Sara Melita

Sara Melita
Senior Advisor and Chief of Staff to SMHS Dean Jeffrey S. Akman
Phone: (202) 994-9518
Email: smelita@gwu.edu

Veronica Michaelsen

Veronica Michaelsen, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Evaluation
Phone: (202) 994-8960
Email: vem@gwu.edu

Robert Miller

Robert H. Miller, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Research
Phone: (202) 994-6988
Email: rhm3@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Sara VanDommelen
Research Administrator
Phone: (202) 994-6985
Email: slv15@gwu.edu

Sandra Carter
Executive Support Assistant
Phone: 202 994-3727
Email: sanfcarter@gwu.edu

Matthew Mintz

Matthew L. Mintz, M.D. ’94, FACP
Assistant Dean for Pre-Clinical Education
Phone: (202) 741-2300
Email: mmintz@mfa.gwu.edu

Dennis Narango

Dennis Narango, M.A.
Associate Dean and Associate Vice President for Medicine and Development and Alumni Relations
Phone: (202) 994-7511
Email: dnarango@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Mya Hawes
Executive Associate for SMHS Development
Phone: (202) 994-8741
Email: ariya@gwu.edu

Lorenzo Norris

Lorenzo Norris, M.D.
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Email: norrismd@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Bedig Galladian
Executive Coordinator for Year III
Phone: (202) 994-2202
Email: bgalladian@gwu.edu

Richard J. Simons

Richard J. Simons, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for M.D. Programs
Email: rsimons@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Penelope White
Executive Assistant
Phone: (202) 994-9528
Email: pwhite16_@gwu.edu

Linda Werling

Linda Werling, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
Phone: (202) 994-2918
Email: lwerling@gwu.edu

Lourdes Winberry

M. Lourdes Winberry, M.P.H.
Associate Dean for Health Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-0149
Email: lourdesw@gwu.edu

Administrative Support:
Jennifer Arnold
Executive Assistant
Phone: (202) 994-8920
Email: jnarnold@gwu.edu

Administrative Support for Dean's Office

Michelle Armstrong
Executive Coordinator for Student Services & Registrar
Phone: (202) 994-3176
Email: marmstrong@gwu.edu

Gorgi Popstefanov
Strategic Projects Analyst
Phone: (202) 994-8452
Email: gpop@gwu.edu

Julia Nashwinter
Executive Coordinator
Phone: (202) 994-3727
Fax: (202) 994-0926
Email: jnashwinter@gwu.edu

LaQuita Ross
Executive Coordinator for Curricular Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-2170
Fax: (202) 994-0926
Email: lbeale@gwu.edu