Best Abstract Awards

The abstracts and poster presentations for medical student research day were judged by an independent panel of faculty reviewers, and outstanding submissions were selected from each of the three major subject area categories: Clinical and Translational Research, Public Health Research, and Medical Education Research.  Below are the recipients of these awards.

2021 Awardees

Chapman Wei
Title: p38alpha and p38delta kinases in Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma: Insights from In vitro Studies and Database Mining Analyses
Faculty Mentor: Tatiana Efimova; Anatomy and Cell Biology, GW SMSH
Chisom Okezue (Chen-Min Hung; co-presenter)
Title: Potential biomarkers for severe ARDS in the setting of SARS-CoV-2 ICU admission
Faculty Mentor: David Yamane; Emergency Medicine, GW SMHS
Matthew McHarg
Title: Ocular Symptoms in COVID-19 Infection: A Survey Study
Faculty Mentor: Shilpa Kodati; National Eye Institute, NIH
Wendy Shwe
Title: Agenesis of the Corpus Callosum: A Retrospective Study on Fetal and Postnatal Outcomes
Faculty Mentor: Sarah Mulkey; Neonatal Neurology, Children’s National
Aribah Shah (Kevin Cho; co-presenter)
Title: Evaluating Postoperative Immobilization Following Hip Reconstruction in Children with Neuromuscular Conditions
Faculty Mentor: Sean Tabaie; Orthopaedic Surgery, Children’s National
Deepika Potarazu (Chen-Min(Steven) Hung; co-presenter)

Title: Attending Guidance Advised: Educational Quality of Surgical Videos on YouTube
Faculty Mentor: Hope Jackson; Surgery, GW SMHS
Will Sweetser
Title: Immigration Legal Screening and Resources in a Primary Care Pediatric Clinic: a Social Determinant of Health
Faculty Mentor: Olanrewaju Falusi, General and Community Pediatrics, Children’s National
Meghana Keswani
Title: Concealment of COVID-19 evaluations from Close contacts and attitudes towards digital contact tracing services
Faculty Mentor: Ali Pourmand; Emergency Medicine, GW SMHS
Olivia Silva
Title: A Retrospective Review of Consent Documentation for Procedural Sedation in the Pediatric Emergency Department
Faculty Mentor: Nichole McCollum,  Emergency Medicine, Children’s National

We are indebted to the help of the following faculty judges who reviewed the submitted abstracts:  Mohammed Abu-Rub, Karla Bartholomew, Susan Ceryak, Binny Choksi, David Diemert, Pritha Ghosh, Thomas Harrod, Eric Heinz, Grace Henry, Uhnoh Kim, Patricia Latham, Minh-Phuong Huynh-Le, David Leitenberg, Andrew Meltzer, Ali Pourmand, Natasha Powell, Karl Saardi, Robert Shesser, Nicholas Shworak, Melanie Siefman, Marc Siegel, Punam Thakkar, Michael Whalen

Special thanks goes to Dr. Susan Ceryak who organized the judging process.