Research » Funding and Support » Funding Opportunities » Elaine H. Snyder Cancer Research Award

Elaine H. Snyder Cancer Research Award

This award is given annually to the GWU SMHS researcher or researchers who have made the “most outstanding contribution to cancer research during the past twelve months”. The Committee interprets cancer research as including laboratory studies, clinical, behavioral, and population- based research focused on novel mechanisms to prevent, diagnose and treat cancer. The Committee considers “outstanding contributions” to include the individuals’ own research and efforts of the individual to expand cancer research and activities throughout the institution.

Prize funds:
This award provides research funding for one year from the Elaine H. Snyder Endowment. These funds are approximately $50,000.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Faculty member of GW SMHS (including CNMC and MFA faculty) who in the judgment of the nominator has made a significant contribution to cancer research at GW-SMHS during the previous 12 months.
  • Performed a body of research at GW
  • Scholarly achievements in the field of cancer research measured by publications, funded research, professional awards and significance of contributions to their discipline.
  • Proposed use of funds, and capacity for future contributions to the field of cancer research.
  • This award cannot be given to the same person within a 5-year period.

Nomination Materials:
Please submit the following nomination materials to by JUNE 1st, 2019.

  • One nomination letter focusing on the candidates research track record and potential
  • Candidate’s research impact statement focusing on how their scholarly achievements have contributed to the field of cancer in the past 12-months (1 page)
  • Candidate’s curriculum vitae
  • Summary of ongoing research and plans for utilization of the Snyder funds

The recipient of this award will be honored at the Faculty Awards Ceremony in September

Previous recipients of the award:

  • 2013* Dr. Wenge Zhu (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology)
  • 2014* Dr. Yang Liu (Cancer Immunology)
  • 2015* Dr. Javad Nazarian (CNMC Pediatric Oncology)
  • 2016* Dr. Catherine Bollard (CNMC Pediatrics; MITM)
  • 2018* Dr. Alex Tzatsos (Anatomy & Cell Biology)
  • *Ineligible for this year’s Snyder Award due to receiving award within last 5 years