Research » Research at SMHS » Emerging Research » Journal Clubs, Seminars, and Research Interest Groups

Journal Clubs, Seminars, and Research Interest Groups

Please see the listing below for SMHS journal clubs and departmental seminars.

Biochemistry & Molecular Medicine Lecture Series: This lecture series brings in researchers from around the country to discuss research advances. For more information, contact Olga Reghay at oreghay@email.gwu.edu.

Cardiovascular Research Interest Group: This in an interdisciplinary meeting organized by Dr. Richard Katz in Cardiology and Dr. Paul Marvar in Pharmacology & Physiology for basic and clinical investigators and residents, fellows, and PhD trainees. The meetings pair a basic/translational scientist with a clinician researcher to discuss current research. For more information, contact Sybile Bayiha at seb@gwu.edu or Yaa Oforiwaa at yoforiwaa@mfa.gwu.edu.

Dermatology Journal Club: Residents meet each week to discuss dermatology articles. For more information, contact Elizabeth Hazuka at ehazuka@mfa.gwu.edu.

Endocrinology Journal Club: These meetings are held jointly with the Washington Hospital Center endocrine fellows and faculty. Every other week, two current articles from the medical literature are presented by fellows or residents and are discussed. For more information, contact Kerry-Ann Williams at imfellowships@gwu.edu.

Genetics Journal Club: This club facilitates discussion of current papers in genetics. Faculty, fellows, residents, and students are welcome to attend. For more information, contact Charles Macri at cmacri@gwu.edu or Laura Abate at leabate@gwu.edu.

Grand Rounds: These meetings are put on by the Department of Medicine. Topics span all divisions of medicine, including obstetrics and gynecology, emergency medicine, orthopaedic surgery, dermatology, psychiatry, and current issues in medicine and medical research. For more information, contact Cristina Burgos at cburgos@mfa.gwu.edu

GW Cancer Center Basic Sciences Seminar Series: This lecture series focuses on advances in cancer research. For more information, contact Daina Bolsteins at dbolsteins@gwu.edu.

IMPACT Initiative Lunch & Learn Series: These lunch meetings promote scholarship and teamwork in teaching. They focus on technology, course design, multimedia, creative projects, and the scholarship of teaching. For more information, contact Mary Corcoran at corcoran@gwu.edu.

Internal Medicine Journal Club: These meetings occur at GW and at the VA. Medical Residents present current articles from the medical literature. For more information, contact Linda Lesky at llesky@gwu.edu.

Microbiology, Immunology and Tropical Medicine Seminar Series: This lecture series meets monthly to discuss current research advances in microbiology and immunology. These meetings bring together microbiologists and immunologists from GW and the surrounding community. For more information, contact Tara-Isis Machado at tmachado@gwu.edu.

Neuroscience Seminar Series: This is a lecture series hosted by the Department of Anatomy and Regenerative Biology for faculty, students, and postdocs. For more information, contact Teresa Simbulan at pepot@gwu.edu.

Neurological Surgery Journal Club: Residents meet monthly to discuss the medical literature. For more information, contact Francesca Copeland at fcopeland@mfa.gwu.edu.

Obstetrics & Gynecology Journal Club: This club meets twice monthly to discuss current papers in obstetrics and gynecology. For more information, contact John Shafer at jshafer@mfa.gwu.edu.

Orthopaedic Surgery Journal Club: Each month, residents and attendings meet to discuss orthopedic articles. For more information, contact Ivan Rivas at irivas@mfa.gwu.edu.

Urgent Matters Webinars: This series provides presentations and moderated discussions with leaders in the emergency care community. For more information, contact Caitlin Carter at gwccarter@gwu.edu.

Virology Interest Group: This is a monthly seminar series in the department of Microbiology, Immunology and Tropical Medicine. Students, faculty, and postdoctoral fellows are welcome to attend. For more information, contact Tara-Isis Machado at tmachado@gwu.edu.