News » GW SMHS Faculty Recognized by D.C. Chapter of the American College of Physicians

GW SMHS Faculty Recognized by D.C. Chapter of the American College of Physicians

Three researchers from the George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS) received awards at the District of Columbia Chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP) 2017 Scientific Meeting held on Nov. 4.

“These faculty members have made a positive impact on the work and experiences of their colleagues, residents, fellows, and students,” said Raymond Lucas, MD, senior associate dean for faculty and health affairs at SMHS. “We are proud to have them as part of the SMHS community and are glad they are receiving such well-deserved recognition.”

Nazia Qazi, MD, assistant professor of medicine at SMHS, was awarded the John F. Maher Laureate Award, which honors fellows and masters of the D.C. Chapter who have shown abiding commitment to excellence in medical care and service to the ACP.

Qazi holds several positions in the ACP, including chair for the Women in Medicine Group, chair for the annual D.C. ACP scientific meeting, and member of the Governor’s Advisory Council. She also received the ACP D.C. Chapter leadership Award in 2015 in recognition of her work in these roles. Qazi is a fellow of the ACP, as well as a fellow of the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases.

David Parenti, MD, professor of medicine and of microbiology, immunology, and tropical medicine at SMHS, received the Walter Lester Henry, Jr., MD, Award for Lifetime Teaching Excellence. The award recognizes a lifetime of commitment to medical education.

Parenti joined the SMHS faculty in 1984, following an internal medicine residency at Northwestern University and a fellowship at Tufts Medical Center (formerly Tufts-New England). For more than 30 years, Parenti has shared his knowledge and wisdom with students, residents, fellows, and colleagues. During his time at GW, he has been awarded the Housestaff Appreciation Award, Humanism in Medicine Award, and Faculty Member of Year Award by the Department of Medicine.

Matthew Tuck, MD, associate professor of medicine at SMHS, was presented with the Sol Katz, MD, Memorial Teaching Award. At SMHS, Tuck engages with students at all levels and with faculty colleagues. In 2014, he was charged with revamping the medical school curriculum for first-year students.

He has received numerous other teaching awards, including the Award for Excellence in Clinician Education from the Society for General Internal Medicine, the James J. Leonard Award for Excellence in Teaching Internal Medicine, and the Veterans Affairs Medical Center Attending of the Year Teaching Award.