GW Academic Medical Enterprise Celebrates Staff Excellence

Authored by

In advance of National Employee Appreciation Day, the George Washington University (GW) School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS) and The GW Medical Faculty Associates (GW MFA) applauded the efforts of six valued employees during the second annual GW Academic Medical Enterprise Staff Excellence Awards, Feb. 28.

“This is a time to celebrate those individuals who are the key for all of us to accomplish what we do. We can’t do it without our staff,” said Barbara L. Bass, MD, RESD ’86, professor of surgery, Walter A. Bloedorn Chair of Administrative Medicine, vice president for health affairs, dean of SMHS and CEO of the GW MFA. “It’s really important to recognize their role in support of our mission of education, research, community service, and, of course, clinical care. We are grateful to have you as key contributors to our success.”

Noted for fostering an atmosphere of collaboration, cooperation, and creativity, the 2023 awardees included Nykiah Betts, clerkship coordinator, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology; Kyle Dobbeck, assistant director, Office of Medical Education; Jonathan Huntley, education coordinator, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; Teresa Simbulan, fiscal operations manager, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology; Melanie F. Trask, MSOL, SHRM-CP, director for academic programs, Department of Clinical Research and Leadership; and Mary Y. Tucker, director, Office of Graduate Medical Education.

“This award seeks to amplify the work done by amazingly committed and talented staff in our SMHS and GW MFA,” said Grace Henry, EdD ’12, assistant dean and director of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion. “We want you to know that we value you. As staff, you are important and we recognize that the SMHS and GW MFA academic medical enterprise cannot function without what you bring to the organization.”

This year the selection committee — Angel Donovan Santos, senior assistant director of admissions; Cheryl Greene, instructional learning assistant; Laurie Lyons, assistant dean for academic planning and curriculum management; and Ruth Bueter, serials and systems librarian — identified nominees from a pool of more than 40 submissions. They sought candidates who fostered an atmosphere of collaboration, cooperation, and creativity; regularly exhibited a willingness to help others; and has made exceptional contributions toward effectiveness and efficiency in the workplace.

“This is indeed a day of recognition and appreciation,” said Pamela McClain, chief operating office for the GW MFA. “The efforts of the nominees and awardees have helped our organization to thrive and to grow. I congratulate you on your recognition and I thank you for everything you do.”

Latest News

Dominic Raj, MD, Bert B. Brooks Chair in the Medical School and professor of medicine at the George Washington (GW) University School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS), and director of the Division of Renal Diseases and Hypertension at the GW Medical Faculty Associates, Received the American…
Steven W. Boyce, MD, selected to serve as chief of the Division of Cardiac Surgery at the GW MFA, and professor of surgery at GW SMHS.
Sharad Goyal, MD, MS, is among 48 American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) members to receive the 2024 ASTRO Fellow (FASTRO) designation.