News » Congratulations to the 2013 "Golden Apple" Awardees

Congratulations to the 2013 "Golden Apple" Awardees

WASHINGTON (March 29, 2013) – Congratulations to the 2013 “Golden Apple” awardees. The annual awards recognize the contributions of GW School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS) professors who have made a significant impact on the students’ education. SMHS students present the Golden Apples during the Medical School Follies, an annual student talent show.

Each year, first- and second-year medical students nominate their favorite professors, while third- and fourth- year students nominate one resident and teaching faculty members. The awards are part of the nominating process for the American Medical Student Association’s National Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence.

This year, first-year students awarded Ron Bohn, Ph.D., associate professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology; second-year students honored Charles Samenow, M.D., M.P.H., assistant professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; third year students selected Charles Macri, M.D., professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and resident, Josh Weidermann, M.D.; and fourth-year students awarded Jim Scott, M.D., professor of Emergency Medicine, and of Health Policy, bringing Scott’s Golden Apple total to 13.