News » Congratulations to the 2012 "Golden Apple" Awardees

Congratulations to the 2012 "Golden Apple" Awardees

Congratulations to the 2012  “Golden Apple” awardees. The Golden Apple awards recognize the contributions of medical school professors who have made significant impacts on the students’ education. Each year, first- and second-year medical students nominate their favorite professors, while third- and fourth-year students nominate one resident and one teaching faculty member. The awards are part of the nominating process for the American Medical Student Association’s National Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence.

This year’s awardees include:

  • First year students awarded Ron Bohn, Ph.D.,  Associate Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology in the Department of Anatomy;
  • Second year students awarded David Diemert, M.D., Associate Research Professor of Microbiology, Immunology, and Tropical Medicine (Primary); Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine;
  • Third year students awarded Chris Bayner, M.D., a third year resident in Urology; and
  • Fourth year students awarded Jim Scott, M.D., Professor of Emergency Medicine (Primary); Professor of Health Policy.

SMHS students present the Golden Apples during the Medical School Follies, an annual Broadway-like student talent show featuring skits and choreographed dance numbers.