News » Ioannis Koutroulis, MD, PhD, MBA, Tapped to Serve as Interim Associate Dean...

Ioannis Koutroulis, MD, PhD, MBA, Tapped to Serve as Interim Associate Dean of MD Admissions

Kevin Nies to Serve as the Assistant Dean of MD Admissions; Former Dean of Admissions Diane McQuail to Serve as the LCME Admissions Officer

ANNOUNCEMENT: The GW School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS) is pleased to announce the selection of Ioannis Koutroulis, MD, PhD, MBA, assistant professor of pediatrics, emergency medicine, genomics and precision medicine as the interim associate dean of the Office of MD Admissions.

Beginning in this role in September 2022, Koutroulis has been providing overall leadership in medical student admissions and is providing strategic direction and priorities for the admissions program. Koutroulis took on this role after the long-tenured admissions dean, Diane McQuail, stepped down to serve as the school’s Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) admissions officer. Kevin Nies, who served as director of the office for the past nine years, has been promoted to assistant dean of the Office of MD Admissions.

“I am thankful to Dr. Koutroulis for taking on this critically important role at our school. With his discerning eye for high-quality candidates and vision for excellence, his transition to the interim associate dean position has been seamless,” said Rich Simons, MD, senior associate dean for MD Programs. “Additionally, we are all very grateful to Diane McQuail for her many years of service as dean, fostering the successful classes of MD students who have made our school very proud. I know that Ioannis, with the support of Diane and Kevin, will continue to build on the record of success the office of admissions has enjoyed.”

Additional responsibilities of the interim associate dean of admissions include:

  • the recruitment of a diverse student body;
  • the continual evaluation of the admissions related policies and procedures, accreditation standards of the LCME, regional accrediting bodies, and Association of American Medical Colleges best practices;
  • the initiation of new programs relevant to admissions;
  • oversight of the post-baccalaureate linkage programs and other special programs;
  • guidance to the admissions committee and faculty regarding policies, file review, interviews, and evaluation;
  • oversight of the medical school’s scholarship committee; and,
  • analysis of admissions data to drive process/policy improvements.

Koutroulis also will serve as the school’s representative on inter-school initiatives and university and national committees related to medical school admissions.

“This is a great opportunity and I am enjoying the new role very much,” said Koutroulis. “It has been a pleasure to meet and interview potential students during the first few months of my tenure and shape the office of admissions for future generations of doctors. I look forward to fostering the incoming classes of GW MD students – and partnering with them as they matriculate into medical school.”

A recipient of the 2022 GW SMHS Distinguished Teacher Awards, Koutroulis previously served as the course director of pathophysiology for second-year medical students at Drexel University. He serves as the director of research in the Emergency Medicine Department at Children’s National Hospital and was the program co-director for the Pediatric Urgent Care fellowship. He is a widely published author, publishing work on sepsis, atopic dermatitis, obesity, and asthma in multiple high-impact, peer reviewed journals.

Originally from Greece, Koutroulis holds an MD and a PhD in infectious diseases from the University of Athens, Greece. He completed his residency training at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and a pediatric emergency medicine fellowship at St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children, Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He earned an MBA in health care management and finance at Drexel University LeBow College of Business.

Koutroulis began serving as the interim associate dean for the MD program on Sept. 1, 2022.