SMHS Deans

Deans Administrative Support
Jeffrey Akman Jeffrey S. Akman, M.D.'81, RESD'85
Walter A. Bloedorn Professor of Administrative Medicine,
Dean, School of Medicine and
Health Sciences and Vice President
for Health Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-3727
Email: akman@gwu.edu
Marie Donohue
Executive Coordinator
Provides administrative support to
Dean Jeffrey S. Akman
Phone: (202) 994-4356
Email: mcdonohue@gwu.edu
Lisa Alexander Lisa M. Alexander, Ed.D. ’03, M.P.H. ’89, PA-C ’79
Assistant Dean for Community-Based Partnerships
Interim Chair and Program Director for Physician Assistant Program
Phone: (202) 994-0659
Email: lmapa@gwu.edu
 
Huda Ayas Huda M. Ayas, Ed.D. ’06, M.B.A. ’98, M.H.S.A. ’93
Associate Dean for International Medicine
Executive Director, Office of International Medicine Programs
Phone: (202) 994-2796
Email: hayas@gwu.edu
 
Mark Batshaw Mark L. Batshaw, M.D.
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, 
Children's National Health System
Phone: (202) 476-4007
Email: mbatshaw@cnmc.org
 
Joseph Bocchino Joseph Bocchino, Ed.D., M.B.A.
Senior Associate Dean for Health Sciences
Phone: (202) 994-5129
Email: bocchino@gwu.edu
 
Vincent Chiappinelli Vincent A. Chiappinelli, Ph.D.
Loewy Professor of Basic Science and chair,
Department of Pharmacology and Physiology
Associate Vice President for Health Affairs and Associate Dean
Phone: (202) 994-2170
Email: vac@gwu.edu
Sandra Carter
Executive Support Assistant
Provides administrative support to
Dean Vincent A. Chiappinelli
Telephone: 202 994-3727
sanfcarter@gwu.edu
Mary Corcoran Mary A. Corcoran, Ph.D., OT/L, FAOTA
Associate Dean for Faculty Development for Health Sciences
Phone: (202) 994-8229
Email: corcoran@gwu.edu
 
Jeffrey Berger Jeffrey Berger M.D., M.B.A.
Interim Associate Dean for
Graduate Medical Education
Phone: (202) 994-3737
Email: jberger2@gwu.edu
 
Lawrence “Bopper” Deyton, MSPH, M.D. ’85
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Public Health
Email ldeyton@gwu.edu
 
Rhonda Goldberg Rhonda M. Goldberg, M.A.
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-3176
Email rmgoldb@gwu.edu
Jessica Fontaine
Executive Coordinator for
Years I & II
Provides administrative support to
Dean Rhonda Goldberg
Phone: (202) 994-3176
Email: msdjlf@gwu.edu
Yolanda Haywood Yolanda Haywood, M.D., RESD ’87
Associate Dean for Diversity, Inclusion, and StudentAffairs
Associate Dean for Student and Curricular Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-2987
Email: yhaywood@gwu.edu
Yvonne Rhodes
Administrative Assistant
Provides administrative support to
Dean Yolanda Haywood
Phone: (202) 994-2987
Email: yrhodes@gwu.edu
Lance Kaplan Lance B. Kaplan, M.B.A.
Associate Dean of Finance, Administration, and Operations
Phone: (202) 496-3618
Email: lkaplan1@gwu.edu
 
Diane McQuail Diane McQuail
Assistant Dean of Admissions for
the M.D. Program

Phone: (202) 994-3749
Email: medadmit@gwu.edu
 
Veronica Michaelsen Veronica Michaelsen, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Evaluation
Phone: (202) 994-8960
Email: vem@gwu.edu
Stephanie Sarandos
Program Manager, Curricular Affairs & Evaluation
Phone: 202-994-5762
Email: sarandos@gwu.edu
Robert H. Miller, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Research
 
Matthew L. Mintz, M.D. ’94, FACP
Interim Assistant Dean for M.D. Program Curriculum
Phone: (202) 741-2300
Email: mmintz@mfa.gwu.edu
Kathleen Kline
Project Manager, Revised Curriculum 
Phone: (202) 994-3332
Email: kgkline@gwu.edu
Dennis Narango Dennis Narango, M.A.
Associate Dean and Associate Vice President for Medicine and Development and Alumni Relations
Phone: (202) 994-7511
Email: dnarango@gwu.edu
Mya Hawes
Executive Associate for SMHS Development
Phone: (202) 994-8741
Email: ariya@gwu.edu

 

Lorenzo Norris, M.D.
Interim Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Email: norrismd@gwu.edu
 
Scott Schroth W. Scott Schroth, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Dean for Administration
Phone: (202) 994-2202
Email: wschroth@gwu.edu
Interim lead of the Office of Medical Education and the Office of Interdisciplinary Medical Education
Bedig Galladian
Executive Coordinator for
Year III
Provides administrative support to
Dean Scott Schroth
Phone: (202) 994-2202
Email: bgalladian@gwu.edu
Ray Lucas, M.D.
Interim Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development
Phone: (202) 994-2966
Email: rlucas@gwu.edu
 
Linda Werling Linda Werling, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Graduate Education
Phone: (202) 994-2918
Email: lwerling@gwu.edu
 
Lourdes Winberry M. Lourdes Winberry, M.P.H.
Associate Dean for Health Affairs
Phone: (202) 994-0149
Email: lourdesw@gwu.edu
Erika Bary
Executive Assistant to Associate Dean for Health Affairs to
Dean M. Lourdes Winberry
Phone: (202) 994-8920
Email: batyed@gwu.edu
Administrative Support for Dean's Office
Sandra Carter
Executive Support Assistant
Phone: (202) 994-3727
Email: sanfcarter@gwu.edu
Kyle Dirkes
Executive Coordinator for Student Services & Registrar
Phone: (202) 994-3501
Fax: (202) 994-0926
Email: kdirkes@gwu.edu
Chris Gallop
Strategic Projects Analyst
Phone: (202) 994-8452
Email: gallop@gwu.edu
Jennifer Gray
Office Administrator
Phone: (202) 994-8384
Email: jennifergray@gwu.edu

 

The School of Medicine & Health Sciences