# THE GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY

# School of Medicine & Health Sciences

# **FACULTY ASSEMBLY**

Monday, March 6, 2023 -- 5:00 pm Ross 101 (with Zoom link)

Faculty are strongly encouraged to attend in person. Visit <u>onward.gwu.edu</u> for COVID-19 protocols

# Registration is required

## **AGENDA**

- I. Call to Order Barbara L. Bass, MD, Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean, School of Medicine and Health Sciences; Chair, Faculty Assembly
- II. Election of Parliamentarian (Professor Steve Charnovitz) Barbara Bass, MD
- III. Approval of October 3, 2022, SMHS Faculty Assembly Minutes Barbara Bass, MD
- IV. Election of Members of the Executive Committee of the Faculty Assembly Barbara Bass, MD

#### Nominations from the floor are welcome

#### (1) Chair from a Health Sciences Department

Three-Year Position to be Filled (Marcia Firmani term expires)

Leslie Davidson (Clinical Research & Leadership) continues

#### Nominations received:

Mary Warner, Associate Professor and Chair, Physician Assistant Studies

# (1) Regular Faculty from a Basic Sciences Department (cannot be from Pharmacology & Physiology)

Three-Year Position to be Filled (Michael Bukrinsky term expires)

Colin Young (Pharmacology & Physiology) continues

#### Nominations received:

- Kirsten Brown, Associate Professor, Anatomy & Cell Biology
- Michael Bukrinsky, Professor, Microbiology, Immunology & Tropical Medicine
- Rebecca Lynch, Assistant Professor, Microbiology, Immunology & Tropical Medicine

#### (1) Regular Faculty from a Clinical Department (cannot be from Medicine)

Three-Year Position to be Filled (Hope Jackson term expires)

Juan Reyes (Medicine) continues

#### **Nominations received:**

- **Jeffrey Berger**, Seymour Alpert Professor & Chair, Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine
- Andrew Choi, Associate Professor, Medicine & Radiology
- **Sharad Goyal**, Professor, Radiology & Neurological Surgery
- Salim Lala, Assistant Professor, Surgery

#### (1) Regular Faculty from Children's National Hospital

Three-Year Position to be Filled (Jennifer Chapman term expires)

#### **Nominations received:**

- **Syed Anwar**, Associate Professor, Radiology and Pediatrics
- Anand Gourishankar, Associate Professor, Pediatrics

# (1) <u>Limited-Service Faculty Member from LifeBridge (Regional Medical Campus)</u> Three-Year Position to be Filled (Vacant)

#### Nominations received:

### V. Election of Three SMHS Representatives to the University Senate - Barbara Bass, MD

**Three (3)** School of Medicine & Health Sciences representatives need to be elected to serve a term of two years. Representatives must be tenured and from each of the three department types, Basic Sciences, Health Sciences, Clinical Sciences.

## **Current Senators (terms expire April 30, 2023)**

- Shawneequa Callier, T (Health Sciences)
- Kurt Johnson, T (Basic Sciences)
- Robert Zeman, T (Clinical)

#### Continuing representatives are:

- Marie Borum, NTT (Clinical)
- Ramesh Mazhari, NTT (Clinical)

Continuing representatives' terms expire in April 2024

Nominees must be tenured, full-time, regular, active-status members of the SMHS faculty, at the rank of associate professor or higher, and have three years of service at GW.

#### Nominations from the floor are welcome

#### **Nominations received:**

- **Shawneequa Callier** (nominated by Yolanda Haywood), Associate Professor, Clinical Research & Leadership, T
- Kurt Johnson (self-nomination), Professor, Anatomy & Cell Biology, T
- Paul Marvar (self-nomination), Associate Professor, Pharmacology & Physiology, T
- Robert Zeman (self-nomination), Professor & Chair, Radiology, T

**VI.** Approval of Changes to the <u>SMHS Rules & Procedures</u> – Yolanda Haywood, MD, Senior Associate Dean, Diversity and Faculty Affairs

Approval of Proposal to modify quorum for the Committee on MD Program Admissions (MDPA) as Endorsed by the Executive Committee of the SMHS Faculty Assembly
This proposal requests a change in the SMHS Rules & Procedures to modify the quorum for the MDPA Committee from nine (9) voting members to fifty percent (50%) of the number of voting members of which the majority are faculty. This proposal has been reviewed and endorsed by the

**VII. Approval of Changes to the <u>SMHS Rules & Procedures</u> – Yolanda Haywood, MD, Senior Associate Dean, Diversity and Faculty Affairs** 

Executive Committee of the SMHS Faculty Assembly.

Approval of Proposal to change the name of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences as Endorsed by the Executive Committee of the SMHS Faculty Assembly
This proposal requests a change in the SMHS Rules & Procedures to change the name of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences to the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health. This proposal has been reviewed and endorsed by the Executive Committee of the SMHS Faculty Assembly.

**VIII. Approval of Changes to the <u>SMHS Rules & Procedures</u> – Yolanda Haywood, MD, Senior Associate Dean, Diversity and Faculty Affairs** 

# Approval of Proposal to increase the number of members on the APT Committee as Endorsed by the Executive Committee of the SMHS Faculty Assembly

This proposal requests a change in the SMHS Rules & Procedures to increase the number of members (11 currently) on the APT Committee by three (3): one (1) in Basic Sciences, one (1) in Health Sciences, and one (1) at Children's National Hospital faculty member. This proposal has been reviewed and endorsed by the Executive Committee of the SMHS Faculty Assembly.

- IX. Dean's Report Barbara Bass, MD
- X. Update on Graduate Medical Education (GME) Harold Frazier, II, MD, Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education
- XI. Research Update Robert Miller, PhD, Vice Dean, Research & Academic Affairs
- XII. GWU Faculty Senate Report Robert Zeman, MD
- XIII. Executive Committee Report Michael Bukrinsky, PhD, Executive Committee Chair
- XIV. New Business (time permitting)
- XV. Adjournment Barbara Bass, MD