AY 18-19 Awards

Department	Award	Winner
Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine	Teacher of the Year	Raymond Pla, MD
	Recognition Award	Gage Parr, MD
		Marian Sherman, MD
	Mentorship Award	Anna "Kate" Hindle, MD
		Nina Deutch, MD
		Danielle Davison, MD
	Edison Award	Anita Vincent, MD
	Department of Medicine Faculty of the Year	Nabil Fallouh, MD
	Non Clinical Department of Medicine Faculty Member of the Year	Laura Abate, M.S.L.S
	Clinic Attending of the Year	David Popiel, MD
	VA Attending of the Year	Jesse Theisen-Toupal, MD
	Fellow of the Year	Joseph Delio, MD
Medicine	Jorge Rios Resident of the Year	Marcella Katsnelson, DO
	VA Resident of the Year	Matthew L. Bernetich, DO
	ICU: Resident of the Year	James Mitchell, IV, MD
	Intern of the Year	Tran Nguyen, MD
	Preliminary Intern of the Year	Blair S. Allais, MD
	Annual Susan Hasselquist Award	Brian P. Epling, MD
	2 nd Year Resident	Jonathan Mamber Czeresnia, MD
	Gordon Moshman, MD ('78) Primary Care Resident Award	Elora M. Negose, MD
Orthopaedic Surgery	Installed as John P. Adams Research	Raj Rao, MD
	Professor	
	Tanahina Awand	NA: also al Malacia de NAD
Urology	Teaching Award	Michael Whalen, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology	Society of Academic Specialists in General Obstetrics and Gynecology Award	Roxanne Jamshidi, MD, MPH
	Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics Excellence in Teaching Award	Sheetal Sheth, MD
	Council on Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology National Faculty Award	Alexis Gimovsky, MD

	The Oscar I. Dodek, Jr. Faculty Teaching Award	Anna BuAbbud, MD
	Awaiu	
	Alpha Omega Alpha Membership Honor Society	Vittorio Gallo, PhD
	American Heart Association Lifetime Achievement Award	Craig Sable, MD
	American Pediatric Society President	Robin Steinhorn, MD
	American Thoracic Society Outstanding	
	Achievement Award	Gustavo Nino, MD
	Annual Elda Arce Award for Excellence	
	in Teaching	Barbara Jantausch, MD
	Annual Elda Arce Award for Excellence	
Pediatrics	in Teaching	Lowell Frank, MD
rediatries	Bloomberg Fellow Award	Sadiqa Kendi, MD
	CNHS Mentorship Award Excellence in	
	Clinical Research	Billie Short, MD
	CNHS Mentorship Award Excellence in	
	Translational Research	Anna Penn, MD, PhD
	Excellence in Medical Student Pediatric	Christopher Spurney, MD
	Cardiology Training Award	
	Excellence in teaching by a fellow -	
	Emergency Medicine Division Award	Mike Hrdy, MD
	Excellence in teaching by an attending -	
	Emergency Medicine Division Award	Katie Donnelly, mD
		Catherine Habashy
	Golden Apple Award	(not a faculty member)
	Golden Apple Award Division of	
	Neurology	Dana Harrar, MD, PhD
	Jodi I. Pike Excellence in Teaching	
	Award - Cardiology Division Award	John Berger, MD
	Jodi I. Pike Excellence in Teaching	
	Award - Cardiology Division Award	Tom Loke, MD
	Michael C. Roberts Award for	
	Outstanding Mentorship	Randi Streisand, PhD
	Pediatric Clerkship Community	
	Preceptor Award	Milagros Ariza, MD
	Pediatric Clerkship Excellence in the	
	Inpatient Setting Award	Stephanie Todd, MD
	Pediatric Clerkship Excellence in the	
	Outpatient Setting Award	Hope Rhodes, MD
	Power of one	Kathleen Ferrer, MD
	Power of one	Kristina Cusmano-Ozog, MD

	Power of one	Mikael Petrosyan, MD
	Power of one	Naida Kalloo, MD
	Suzanne Feetham, PhD, FAAN Nursing	
	Research Support Award	Renné Roberts Turner, MD
	Suzanne Feetham, PhD, FAAN Nursing	
	Research Support Award	Vicki Freedenberg, PhD
	Outstanding Work as Co-Chairman on	
	the Clinical Learning Environment	Kathryn Marko, MD
GME	Committee of GWU-SMHS	
GIVIL	Outstanding Work as Co-Chairman on	
	the Clinical Learning Environment	Courtney Paul, MD
	Committee of GWU-SMHS	
	Outstanding Service to the Graduate	
	Medical Education Community as the	Jeffrey Berger, MD
	Associate Dean of GME and Designated	
	Institutional Official (DIO) at GW-SMHS	
Neurology	John Kelly Teaching Award	Taha Gholipour, MD
	Golden Apple Award for Excellence in	John Keiser, MD, PhD
Pathology	Resident Teaching	Anwar Farhood, MD
	2019 College of American Pathologists	
	President's Honors Award	Donald Karcher, MD
Dermatology	Teachers of the Year Award	Bethesda Dermatopathology Lab
	Teacher of the Year Award	Pooja Khera, MD
	Distinguished Public Service Award	James F. Cawley, PA-C, MPH, DHL
		(Hon)
PA	Dr. Jules Cahan Distinguished Teaching	Mary Ogunsanya, MD, FAAP
• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	Award	
	Physician Assistant Education	Susan LeLacheur, DrPH, PA-C
	Association Master Faculty Award	
Health, Human Function,	Outstanding Faculty Class of 2019	Dhinkar Jayaseelan, DPT
& Rehabilitation Sciences	Golden Apple Award Class of 2020	Elizabeth Ruckert, DPT
	Golden Apple Award Class of 2021	Margaret Plack, DPT, EdD
	Alpha Eta Inductee	Erin Wentzell, DPT
_	GW Attending of the Year	Aaron Drake, MD
<u> </u>	0	, ···-

	Pediatric Attending of the Year	Rosemary Thomas-Mohtat, MD
Emergency Medicine	Off-Service Attending of the Year	Babak Sarani, MD
	NSF Eager Award: "Biologically inspired valveless impedance pump"	Narine Sarvazyan, PhD
	GW OVPR International Research Award: "Hyperspectral imaging of ancient frescoes in Aruch cathedral"	Narine Sarvazyan, PhD
Pharmacology & Physiology	American Physiological Society: • Beverly Peterson Bishop Excellence in Neuroscience	
	Award Physiological Genomics Young Investigator Award Shin-Chun Wang Young Investigator Award	Colin Young, PhD
	British Association for Psychopharmacology 2019 Summer meeting Best non-clinical Poster Prize	Paul Marvar, PhD
	(Pi) CDRF Award: Assessment of Cardioautonomic Homeostasis in Post- Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)	Paul Marvar, PhD
	(Co-PI) CDRF Award: The Role of Satiety Hormones and Cardiometabolic Disease Risk in PTSD	Paul Marvar, PhD
Surgery	Paul C. Adkins Award	Rahul Tevar, MD
	Joseph M. Giordano Award for Humanism	Paul Dangerfield, MD
	Golden Apple	Juliet Lee, MD
	Chiefs' Choice Award	Rami Makhoul, MD