THE GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY

School of Medicine & Health Sciences

FACULTY ASSEMBLY

Monday, March 7, 2022 -- 5:00 pm (Webinar will open at 4:30 for registration)

Via Zoom

Registration is required

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order Barbara L. Bass, MD, Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean, School of Medicine and Health Sciences; Chair, Faculty Assembly
- II. Election of Parliamentarian (Professor Steve Charnovitz) Barbara Bass, MD
- III. Approval of October 4, 2021 SMHS Faculty Assembly Minutes Barbara Bass, MD
- IV. Election of Members of the Executive Committee of the Faculty Assembly Barbara Bass, MD

Nominations from the floor are welcome

(1) Chair from a Basic Sciences Department

Three-Year Position to be Filled (David Mendelowitz term expires)

Rong Li (Biochemistry & Molecular Medicine) continues

Nominations received:

Sanjay Maggirwar, Professor and Chair, Microbiology, Immunology & Tropical Medicine

(1) Chair from a Clinical Department

Three-Year Position to be Filled (Antonia Sepulveda term expires)

Thomas Jarrett (Urology) continues

Nominations received:

David Belyea, Professor and Interim Chair, Ophthalmology

(1) Regular Faculty from a Health Sciences Department (cannot be from HHFRS)

Three-Year Position to be Filled (Lisa Schwartz term expires)

Marisa Birkmeier (Health, Human Function & Rehab Sciences) continues

Nominations received:

- Leigh Frame, Assistant Professor, Clinical Research & Leadership
- Mountasser Kadrie, Associate Professor, Clinical Research & Leadership
- Lisa Schwartz, Associate Professor, Biomedical Laboratory Sciences

V. Election of Two SMHS Representatives to the University Senate - Barbara Bass, MD

Two (2) School of Medicine & Health Sciences representatives need to be elected to serve a term of two years. Representatives can be tenured or non-tenure track. They must be from a clinical department.

Current Senators and terms

- Marie Borum, NTT (Clinical) Term expires April 30, 2022
- Jannet Lewis, T (Clinical) Term expires April 30, 2022

Continuing representatives are:

- Shawneequa Callier, T (Health Sciences)
- Kurt Johnson, T (Basic Sciences)
- Robert Zeman, T (Clinical)

Continuing representatives' terms expire in April 2023

Nominees must be full-time, regular, active status members of the SMHS faculty, at the rank of associate professor or higher and have three years of service at GW. They must be from a CLINICAL department.

Nominations from the floor are welcome

Nominations received:

- Marie Borum (nominated by Alan Wasserman), Professor of Medicine, NTT
- Juliet Lee (self-nominated), Associate Professor of Surgery, NTT
- Ramesh Mazhari (nominated by Dominic Raj), Associate Professor of Medicine, NTT
- VI. Dean's Report Barbara Bass, MD
- VII. Update on Graduate Medical Education (GME) Harold Frazier, MD, Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education
- VIII. GWU Faculty Senate Report Robert Zeman, MD
- IX. Executive Committee Report Michael Bukrinsky, PhD, Executive Committee Chair
- X. New Business (time permitting)
- XI. Adjournment Barbara Bass, MD