Fall 2021 Executive Committee Nominations Received One (1) Chair from Clinical Department

Chair, Clinical Department (replace H. Kaminski)

Jeffrey Berger, Seymour Alpert Professor, and Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine (Self-Nomination and nominated by Raymond Pla)

Jeffrey S. Berger, MD, MBA, FASA, is Seymour Alpert Professor and Chair, Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine at The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences in Washington, D.C. Prior to his current role, Dr. Berger was anesthesiology residency program director for 8 years and associate dean for graduate medical education and ACGME designated institutional official (DIO) for 4 years at the George Washington University.

Serving on the Executive Committee represents an outstanding opportunity to represent GW on behalf of academic faculty in the School of Medicine and Health Sciences. Dr. Berger looks forward to bringing lessons learned from previous and on-going leadership experiences to the Executive Committee role, such as associate editor for the Journal of Graduate Medical Education, co-editor-in-chief of the Journal of Education in Perioperative Medicine, ad hoc reviewer for the NIH's Health Services Organization and Delivery study section, board member of the Society of Education in Anesthesia (SEA), council for the Society for Academic Anesthesia Core Program Directors, education advisory board member of the Association of University Anesthesiologists, and executive board member of the DC Society for Anesthesiologists where Dr. Berger previously served as President of the Society.

He and his wife, Rachel, who is a private practice cardiologist, have three daughters and live in the Maryland suburbs, just outside of Washington, D.C.

From Dr. Pla

I offer to support the selection of Dr. Jeffrey Berger. Dr. Berger has leveraged his vision, his energy, and his determination to foster growth and innovation within our department in the face of unprecedented and unforeseeable challenges. Though the vision is his and the determination, his, Dr. Berger leads in a collaborative way. He has provided opportunity to contribute, grow and lead to all members of our department, especially recognizing the talent of underrepresented groups within our community. Dr. Berger enjoys strong relationships and deep respect throughout the GW Medical Center community. Thus, I enthusiastically, offer my unqualified support for his candidacy to this esteemed position.

o Adam Friedman, Professor, and Chair, Department of Dermatology (Self-Nomination)

As an academic dermatologist with extensive teaching, research, and advocacy experience, I have used my unique skills in 1. Educating/advocating at the national level for prior authorization reform and step therapy transparency through the alliance for patient access; 2. Improving access to care through unique clinical service lines and expanding telemedicine education and access to underserved areas in Washington DC, and 3. Creating innovative educational activities for all level of learners that are accessible and timely even during a pandemic. I am uniquely poised to not only voice concerns impacting every facet of clinical academic life but also anticipate emerging challenges given involvement with numerous organizations and societies outside of the GW world.

 Nancy Gaba, Professor, and Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology (Nominated by Charelle Carter-Brooks)

Committed to the university, education and excellence in clinical care.

• Antonia Sepulveda, Ralph E. Lowey Professor of Oncology and Chair, Department of Pathology (Self-Nomination)

I would be honored to serve as a member of the SMHS executive committee. I have a deep appreciation for the success of our GW academic enterprise, as Chair of the Department of Pathology for the past two years. I also bring experience in many leadership roles from previous institutions (Columbia University, University of Pennsylvania) where I was member of several University committees, such as the APT committees at both institutions and have had leadership roles in the clinical, research and education missions.