THE GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY

School of Medicine & Health Sciences

FACULTY ASSEMBLY

Monday, March 8, 2021 -- 5:00 pm Via Zoom

Registration is required

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order Barbara L. Bass, MD, Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean, School of Medicine and Health Sciences; Chair, Faculty Assembly
- II. Election of Parliamentarian (Professor Steve Charnovitz) Barbara Bass, MD
- III. Approval of October 5, 2020 SMHS Faculty Assembly Minutes Barbara Bass, MD
- IV. Election of Members of the Executive Committee of the Faculty Assembly Barbara Bass, MD

Nominations from the floor are welcome

Chair from Basic Sciences Department

Three-Year Position to be Filled (Eric Vilain term expires) David Mendelowitz (Pharmacology & Physiology) continues

Nominations received:

• Rong Li, Professor and Chair, Biochemistry & Molecular Medicine

<u>Chair from Clinical Department</u> **Three-Year Position to be Filled (Antonia Sepulveda term expires)** Henry Kaminski (Neurology) continues

Nominations received:

• Thomas Jarrett, Professor and Chair, Urology

Chair from Health Sciences Department

Three-Year Position to be Filled (Maura Polansky term expires, not eligible for another term)

Marcia Firmani (Biomedical Laboratory Sciences) continues

Nominations received:

• Leslie Davidson, Associate Professor and Chair, Clinical Research & Leadership

Regular Faculty from Basic Sciences Department (cannot be from MITM)

One-Year Position to be Filled (Kenna Peusner transfer)

Michael Bukrinsky (MITM) continues

Nominations received:

- Raja Mazumder, Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Medicine
- Colin Young, Associate Professor, Pharmacology & Physiology

Regular Faculty from Health Sciences Department (cannot be from BLS)

Three-Year Position to be Filled (Erika Bramlette term expires)

Lisa Schwartz (Biomedical Laboratory Sciences) continues

Nominations received:

- Marisa Birkmeier, Assistant Professor, Health, Human Function & Rehab Sciences
- Mountasser Kadrie, Associate Professor, Clinical Research & Leadership

<u>Regular Faculty from any Clinical Department (cannot be from the same department)</u> Three-Year Position to be Filled (Keith Mortman term expires) Two-Year Position to be Filled (Monica Lypson departure)

Nominations received:

- Marc Chodos, Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
- James DeBritz, Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
- Hope Jackson, Assistant Professor, Surgery
- Keith Mortman, Associate Professor, Surgery
- Juan Reyes, Assistant Professor, Medicine
- Punam Thakkar, Assistant Professor, Surgery
- Mamoun Younes, Professor, Pathology

V. Election of Three SMHS Representatives to the University Senate

Barbara Bass, MD

Three (3) School of Medicine & Health Sciences representatives need to be elected to serve a term of two years. This year we need to elect at least two tenured faculty members:

- one faculty member from the Basic Sciences
- one faculty member from the Health Sciences
- one faculty member from a clinical department

Current Senators and terms

- Ellen Costello, T (Health Sciences) Term expires April 30, 2021, eligible for another term
- Kurt Johnson, T (Basic Sciences) Term expires April 30, 2021, eligible for another term
- Raj Rao, NTT (Clinical) Term expired February 28, 2021 need to elect a member to fill remaining term

Continuing representatives are:

- Marie Borum, NTT (Clinical)
- Jannet Lewis, T (Clinical)

Their term expires in April 2022

Nominees must be full-time, regular, active status members of the SMHS faculty, at the rank of associate professor or higher and have three years of service at GW.

Nominations from the floor are welcome

Nominations received

- 1. One faculty member from Basic Sciences
- Kurt Johnson (self-nominated), Professor of Anatomy & Cell Biology, T
- Imtiaz Khan (self-nominated), Professor of Microbiology, Immunology & Tropical Medicine, T
- 2. One faculty member from Health Sciences
- Shawneequa Callier (nominated by Yolanda Haywood), Associate Professor of Clinical Research & Leadership, T
- Mountasser Kadrie (self-nominated), Associate Professor of Clinical Research & Leadership, NTT
- Lisa Schwartz (self-nominated), Associate Professor of Biomedical Laboratory Sciences, NTT
- 3. One faculty member from a clinical department
- Robert Zeman (nominated by Anton Sidawy), Professor and Chair, Radiology, T
- 4. One faculty member from a clinical department to fill the remaining term (two months) of Raj Rao, NTT
- Robert Zeman (nominated by Anton Sidawy), Professor and Chair, Radiology, T

VI. Approval of Changes to the SMHS Rules & Procedures – Yolanda Haywood, MD

Approval of Proposal to form a New Standing Committee as Endorsed by the Executive Committee of the SMHS Faculty Assembly

This proposal requests a change in the SMHS Rules & Procedures to establish a Committee on Equity & Inclusive Excellence as a Standing Committee of the SMHS Faculty Assembly. This proposal has been reviewed and endorsed by the Executive Committee of the SMHS Faculty Assembly.

- VII. Dean's Report Barbara Bass, MD
- VIII. Update on Graduate Medical Education (GME) Harold Frazier, MD, Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education
- IX. GWU Faculty Senate Report Ellen Costello, PhD
- X. Executive Committee Report Keith Mortman, MD, Chair
- XI. New Business (time permitting)
- XII. Adjournment Barbara Bass, MD