Community Service

Community service is integral to the culture of the OW Department of Psychiatry and its faculty and residents have long been recognized for their effo11s. Julia B. Frank, M.D. was named 2005 Psychiatrist of the Year by the Washington Psychiatric Society (WPS) for coordinating psychiatric services for the Hurricane Katrina evacuees brought to Washington, DC. James L. Griffith, M.D. was named the 2004 Psychiatrist of the Year by the WPS for establishing culturally-sensitive psychiatric services at the Center for Multicultural Health Services in Northern Virginia. Jeffrey S. Akman, M.D. received the Medical Society of the District of Columbia Community Service Award for his HIV/AIDS work.

Current Community Service

Our residents have served at a community site with Georgetown Ministries, at which they provide psychiatric services to homeless persons in the Georgetown and Foggy Bottom neighborhoods.