News » Please Join Us In Welcoming Our Newest Addition to the Medicine Faculty

Please Join Us In Welcoming Our Newest Addition to the Medicine Faculty

January 2016 - Volume 20, Issue 1

Farzana L. Walcott, MD, MPH will join the Division of General Internal Medicine on January 4, 2016 at the M Street location. Dr. Walcott earned a Master in Public Health Degree from The University of Texas School of Public Health in 2000. She immediately embarked on her medical degree, which she complete at Texas A&M College of Medi-cine in 2004.

Dr. Walcott completed the first two years of Residency in Internal Medi-cine (PGY-1) and Anesthesiology (PGY-2) at the University of Texas Health Science Center and concluded her last two years at The University of Texas Medical Branch in Internal Medicine and General Preventive Medicine in 2010.

Dr. Walcott is board certified by the American Board of Internal Medi-cine and is board eligible by the American Board of Preventive Medicine. She is licensed in the state of Texas and the District of Columbia.

For the past four years, Dr. Walcott has been enrolled in the Cancer Pre-vention Fellowship Program as a Post-doctoral research fellow at the National Cancer Institute, Division of Cancer Prevention. She participat-ed in a number of projects including the Phase 1 Pilot study of Metformin in Li-Fraumeni Syndrome, Serous Ovarian Cancer Trends using NAACR Data and a number of other protocols.

Her scholarly activity is impressive with two manuscripts under review, four manuscripts in preparation, more than ten published manuscripts and a number of posters and presentations under her belt. As a visiting Preventive Medicine Resident, a number of opportunities were presented, both nationally and internationally. Her international exposure took her to Cape Town, South Africa, with the International Agency for Cancer Research and the Kenya Medical Research Institute in Nairobi, Kenya.

Dr. Walcott has been the recipient of a number of awards and accolades; in 2013 she was presented with the “2013 NCI Director’s Innovation Award/Career Development Award”; in 2010, she was presented with the “Fogarty international Research Fellowship Award” and in 2008 she was the American Cancer Society General Preventive Medicine Physician Awardee for Cancer Prevention.