Student Directory

Approximately 75 students are enrolled in the IBS graduate programs. The Student Directory shares their name, research lab and year entering the program.

Julie Ahn Headshot

Name
Julie Ahn

Year Entered
2016

Program
Molecular Medicine

Email
jahn724@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Miller

Candidacy Date
10/24/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Cornell University

Jaclyn Andricovich Headshot

Name
Jaclyn Andricovich

Year Entered
2019

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
jandricovich@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: R. Li • 2: C. Bollard • 3: R. Fernandes

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Boston University

Sonali Bahl Headshot

Name
Sonali Bahl

Year Entered
2015

Program
Molecular Medicine

Email
sonali_bahl@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Seto / Lee

Candidacy Date
7/3/17

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Stonybrook University

Christopher Bailey Headshot

Name
Christopher Bailey

Year Entered
2016

Program
Molecular Medicine

Email
baileyc@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Wang / Lee

Candidacy Date
10/22/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of Central Florida
Graduate: Johns Hopkins University

G. Nicole Rivero Ballon Headshot

Name
G. Nicole Rivero Ballon

Year Entered
2020

Program
Neuroscience

Email
nicolerb@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Virginia Tech

Annika Balraj Headshot

Name
Annika Balraj

Year Entered
2016

Program
Molecular Medicine

Email
abalraj@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Miller

Candidacy Date
2/5/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: George Washington University

Aparna Baxi Headshot

Name
Aparna Baxi

Year Entered
2016

Program
Molecular Medicine

Email
abaxi1@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Moody

Candidacy Date
10/23/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Birla Institute of Technology
Graduate: University of Maryland-Baltimore

James Bernot Headshot

Name
James Bernot

Year Entered
2015

Program
Genomics & Bioinformatics

Email
jbernot@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Crandall

Candidacy Date
11/28/17

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of Connecticut
Graduate: University of Connecticut

Katherine Blackmore (McGeever) Headshot

Name
Katherine Blackmore (McGeever)

Year Entered
2016

Program
Molecular Medicine

Email
kblackmore@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Young

Candidacy Date
10/18/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of New Hampshire-Durham
Graduate: University of Illinois-Urbana

Nathaniel Boley Headshot

Name
Nathaniel Boley

Year Entered
2019

Program
Neuroscience

Email
nboley54@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: P. Marvar • 2: M. Colonnese • 3: A. Polter

Thesis Advisor
Colonesse

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Muhlenberg College

Nicole Bonan Headshot

Name
Nicole Bonan

Year Entered
2018

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
nbonan@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: A. Bosque • 2: K. Chiappinelli • 3: R. Fernandes

Thesis Advisor
Fernandes

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: American University
Graduate: American University

Erin Bonner Headshot

Name
Erin Bonner

Year Entered
2017

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
ebonner@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: A. LaMantia • 2: J. Nazarian • 3: J. Nazarian

Thesis Advisor
Nazarian / Vilain

Candidacy Date
9/9/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Bryn Mawr College

Claire Charpentier Headshot

Name
Claire Charpentier

Year Entered
2019

Program
Genomics & Bioinformatics

Email
ccharpen@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: M. Torii • 2: J. Corbin • 3: I. Zohn

Thesis Advisor
Zohn

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Franklin & Marshall

Samantha Chin Headshot

Name
Samantha Chin

Year Entered
2020

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
samanthachin@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of California-Berkeley

Jenna Clements Headshot

Name
Jenna Clements

Year Entered
2020

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
jclements@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Lindenwood College

Blake Cooper Headshot

Name
Blake Cooper

Year Entered
2019

Program
Pharmacology & Physiology

Email
cooperbl@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: C. Young • 2: N. Posnack • 3: D. Mendelowitz

Thesis Advisor
Posnack / Mendelowitz

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Hendrix College

Madeline Dahut Headshot

Name
Madeline Dahut

Year Entered
2018

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
mdahut@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: T. Armstrong • 2: M. Gilbert • 3: C. Palena

Thesis Advisor
Palena / Leitenberg

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Georgetown University

Tyson Dawson Headshot

Name
Tyson Dawson

Year Entered
2019

Program
Pharmacology & Physiology

Email
tyden46@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: K. Crandall • 2: R. Mazumder • 3: W. Li

Thesis Advisor
Crandall

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Brigham Young

Dingerdissen, Hayley Headshot

Name
Hayley Dingerdissen

Year Entered
2014

Program
Molecular Medicine

Email
hmhamilt@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Mazumder

Candidacy Date
10/24/16

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of DC
Graduate: George Washington University

Samantha Dow Headshot

Name
Samantha Dow

Year Entered
2018

Program
Neuroscience

Email
sdow3@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: A. LaMantia • 2: C. Young • 3: H. Lu

Thesis Advisor
Young

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of Rochester

Eaton, Brett Headshot

Name
Brett Eaton

Year Entered
2014

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
bpeaton@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Panchal / Leitenberg

Candidacy Date
10/22/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Bucknell University
Graduate: Johns Hopkins University

Kaitlin Garofano Headshot

Name
Kaitlin Garofano

Year Entered
2016

Program
Molecular Medicine

Email
kgarofano@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Lee

Candidacy Date
9/22/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Skidmore College

Joshua Ghofrani Headshot

Name
Joshua Ghofrani

Year Entered
2019

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
jghofrani@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: M. Bukrinsky • 2: R. Cruz • 3: Seto $: Fernandes

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Boston College

Stephanie Gomez Headshot

Name
Stephanie Gomez

Year Entered
2017

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
mariaghernandez@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: I. Khan • 2: K. Chiappinelli • 3: R. Fernandes

Thesis Advisor
Chiappinelli K.

Candidacy Date
9/26/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: George Washington University

Erin Grundy Headshot

Name
Erin Grundy

Year Entered
2019

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
egrundy8@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: R. Cruz • 2: A. Bosque • 3: K. Chiappinelli

Thesis Advisor
K. Chiappinelli / Bollard

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Bucknell University

Maria Hernandez Headshot

Name
Maria Hernandez

Year Entered
2017

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
mariaghernandez@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: A. Vilagra • 2: E. Sotomayor • 3: A. Villagra

Thesis Advisor
Villagra / Sotomayor

Candidacy Date
9/24/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Texas Tech University

Jes’Terieuz Howard Headshot

Name
Jes’Terieuz Howard

Year Entered
2019

Program
Pharmacology & Physiology

Email
jthoward@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: P. Jose • 2: C. Limperopoulos • 3: Sen.

Thesis Advisor
Limperopoulos

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Auburn University

J. Natalie Howard Headshot

Name
J. Natalie Howard

Year Entered
2018

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
jnhoward@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: G. Hovel-Miner • 2: A. Bosque • 3: T. Efimova

Thesis Advisor
Bosque

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Georgia Institute of Technology

Hye (Amy) Hwang Headshot

Name
Hye (Amy) Hwang

Year Entered
2017

Program
Neuroscience

Email
hye_hwang@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: Hashmoto-Torii • 2: Hashimoto-Torii • 3: Hashimoto-Torii

Thesis Advisor
Hashimoto-Torii

Candidacy Date
9/5/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: North Carolina State University
Graduate: Georgetown University

Tony James Headshot

Name
Tony James

Year Entered
2017

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
tjames12@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: B. Jones • 2: R. Cruz • 3: M. Bukrinsky

Thesis Advisor
Nath / Leitenberg

Candidacy Date
12/11/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Arkansas State University
Graduate: Drexel University

Kristy Johnson (Ortega) Headshot

Name
Kristy Johnson (Ortega)

Year Entered
2015

Program
Molecular Medicine

Email
kristyortega91@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Triplett / Colonnese

Candidacy Date
7/3/17

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: California State University
Graduate: University of Missouri

Tomas Kanholm Headshot

Name
Tomas Kanholm

Year Entered
2018

Program
Genomics & Bioinformatics

Email
tkanholm@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: A. Villagra • 2: R. Fernandes • 3: K. Chiappinelli

Thesis Advisor
Chiappinelli K.

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of California-Los Angeles
Graduate: University of Southern California

Tessa Knox Headshot

Name
Tessa Knox

Year Entered
2017

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
tjknox@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: N. Lee • 2: N. Lee • 3: N. Lee

Thesis Advisor
Lee

Candidacy Date
9/4/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of Illinois-Urbana
Graduate: University of Florida

Kristen Kocher Headshot

Name
Kristen Kocher

Year Entered
2017

Program
Genomics & Bioinformatics

Email
kocherk@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: J. Nazarian • 2: E. Vilain • 3: R. Cruz

Thesis Advisor
Vilain

Candidacy Date
9/16/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Dickinson College
Graduate: George Washington University

Anthony Laucevicius Headshot

Name
Anthony Laucevicius

Year Entered
2020

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
tjlaucevicius@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Gallaudet University

Debbie Ledezma Headshot

Name
Debbie Ledezma

Year Entered
2017

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
dkledezma@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: A. Villagra • 2: R. Fernandes • 3: R. Fernandes

Thesis Advisor
Fernandes

Candidacy Date
8/15/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of Virginia

Dana Lewis (Cobb) Headshot

Name
Dana Lewis (Cobb)

Year Entered
2017

Program
Neuroscience

Email
dana_lewis715@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: Histed • 2: Khaliq • 3: Khaliq

Thesis Advisor
Khaliq / Colonnese

Candidacy Date
8/1/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Appalachian State University

Jonathan LoTempio Headshot

Name
Jonathan LoTempio

Year Entered
2017

Program
Genomics & Bioinformatics

Email
jlotempio@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: R. Mazumder • 2: J. Nazarian • 3: E. Vilain

Thesis Advisor
Vilain

Candidacy Date
9/12/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of Rochester

Brendan Mann Headshot

Name
Brendan Mann

Year Entered
2019

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
bmann@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: R. Lynch • 2: S. Maggirwar • 3: R. Cruz

Thesis Advisor
Maggirwar

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Virginia Tech

Jacob Medina Headshot

Name
Jacob Medina

Year Entered
2019

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
jmedina53@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: M. Shibata • 2: R. Fernandes • 3: R. Li

Thesis Advisor
Fernandes

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: St. Marys University

Murphy, Kelly Headshot

Name
Kelly Murphy

Year Entered
2014

Program
Molecular Medicine

Email
murpke_02@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Chen / Chiappinelli

Candidacy Date
10/24/16

Previous Degree
Undergraduate:Gettysburg College

Teresa Murphy Headshot

Name
Teresa Murphy

Year Entered
2020

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
tmurphy14@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Pennsylvania State University

Brita Ostermeier Headshot

Name
Brita Ostermeier

Year Entered
2020

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
bostermeier@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of Wisconsin-Madison

Emily Phung Headshot

Name
Emily Phung

Year Entered
2016

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
emiphung@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Graham / Lynch

Candidacy Date
8/23/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Virginia Tech

Allison Powell Headshot

Name
Allison Powell

Year Entered
2017

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
abpowell@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: R. Cruz • 2: R. Cruz • 3: R. Cruz

Thesis Advisor
Cruz / Leitenberg

Candidacy Date
8/8/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Virginia Tech
Graduate: George Washington University

Kailyn Price Headshot

Name
Kailyn Price

Year Entered
2020

Program
Genomics & Bioinformatics

Email
kmprice@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: North Carolina A&T State University

Jakob Samsel Headshot

Name
Jakob Samsel

Year Entered
2016

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
jsamsel@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Koup / Lynch

Candidacy Date
9/20/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of Tennessee

Indra Sarabia Headshot

Name
Indra Sarabia

Year Entered
2016

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
sarabia@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Bosque

Candidacy Date
10/31/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of California-Santa Cruz

Jessica Schenck Headshot

Name
Jessica Schenck

Year Entered
2017

Program
Neuroscience

Email
jkschenck@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: R. Miller • 2: A. Polter • 3: M. Bukrinsky

Thesis Advisor
Bukrinsky

Candidacy Date
9/10/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Loyola University

Tyler Seckar Headshot

Name
Tyler Seckar

Year Entered
2020

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
tyseckar@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Trinity College

Jonathan Smisson Headshot

Name
Jonathan Smisson

Year Entered
2020

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
jsmisson18@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
N/A

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: George Washington University

Hannah Smith Headshot

Name
Hannah Smith

Year Entered
2019

Program
Neuroscience

Email
hsmith3@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: H. Lu • 2: P. Marvar • 3: C. Young

Thesis Advisor
Marvar

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Bates College

Danielle Sohai Headshot

Name
Danielle Sohai

Year Entered
2018

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
dsohai@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: RC Wu • 2: A. Villagra • 3: M. Shibata • 4: R. Cruz

Thesis Advisor
Cruz / Bollard

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of Delaware

Nathaniel Stearrett Headshot

Name
Nathaniel Stearrett

Year Entered
2017

Program
Genomics & Bioinformatics

Email
stearrettnt@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: K. Crandall • 2: E. Vilain • 3: K. Crandall

Thesis Advisor
Crandall

Candidacy Date
9/25/19

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Virginia Commonwealth University

Carissa Stover Headshot

Name
Carissa Stover

Year Entered
2019

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
cjstover@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: A. Bosque • 2: R. Lynch • 3: S. Maggirwar

Thesis Advisor
Bosque

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Wichita State University

Neerja Vashist Headshot

Name
Neerja Vashist

Year Entered
2019

Program
Genomics & Bioinformatics

Email
neerjavashist@gwu.edu

Rotations
1: E. Vilain • 2: W. Li • 3: G. Nino

Thesis Advisor
Vilain

Candidacy Date
N/A

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: University of California-Los Angeles

Andrew Wilson Headshot

Name
Andrew Wilson

Year Entered
2016

Program
Microbiology & Immunology

Email
abwilson@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
Lynch

Candidacy Date
9/26/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: College of William & Mary

Bogang Wu

Name
Bogang Wu

Year Entered
2016

Program
Cancer Biology

Email
wub@gwu.edu

Rotations
N/A

Thesis Advisor
R. Li

Candidacy Date
8/31/18

Previous Degree
Undergraduate: Jinan University