Alumni Class Notes

GW School of Medicine and Health Sciences is proud of alumni! Please share recent promotions, awards, and news about your family with us! Submit a class note.

Luther W. Brady Jr., M.D. ’48, HON ’04, B.A. ’46, A.A. ’44, was recently awarded his seventh honorary degree, from Complutense University in Madrid, Spain.

Kenneth Fisher, M.D. ’68, recently published a book, Understanding Healthcare: A Historical Perspective (Freedom in Health Care, 2016).

Ira Spar, M.D. ’68, RESD ’75, published his second book, Civil War Hospital Newspapers: Histories and Excerpts of Nine Union Publications (McFarland & Company, Inc., 2015). The book — a follow-up to his 2013 work, New Haven’s Civil War Hospital: A History of Knight U.S. General Hospital, 1862–65 (McFarland) — examines the founding and development of internal Union hospital newspapers, which were written and published by patients, during the Civil War. Spar is a U.S. Army Vietnam War veteran and is a board member with the Society of Civil War Surgeons. He is also president of the Hartford (Connecticut) Medical Society and a fellow with the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons.

Alex Jeffrey Mechaber, M.D., RESD ’97, FACP, professor of medicine and senior associate dean for undergraduate medical education at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, recently received the Dr. Bernard J. Fogel Chair in Medical Education for his 18 years of outstanding service to the school.
“Alex was my first chief resident,” recalls Alan Wasserman, M.D., chair of the Department of Medicine and Eugene Meyer Professor of Medicine at SMHS. “I am very proud of his accomplishments.”

Mechaber is just the second holder of the endowed chair, named in honor of former dean Bernard J. Fogel, M.D., who served from 1981 to 1995.
“I was both surprised and humbled when I was notified that I would be receiving the Fogel Chair,” says Mechaber, who graduated from the Miller School in 1994. “Bernie was my dean when I was in medical school, so to hold the chair named for him is especially meaningful to me.”

Mechaber’s wife Hilit Mechaber, M.D., RESD ’98, also completed her internal medicine residency at GW and serves as associate dean for student services at the Miller School of Medicine.

Steven E. Cohen, PA-C ’83, joined the SMHS faculty as a clinical instructor in the Physician Assistant (PA) Studies program. Previously, Cohen served as a senior neurosurgical PA at Suburban Hospital, a community-based, not-for-profit hospital serving Montgomery County, Maryland.

Scott Rifkin, M.D. ’85, CEO of Mid-Atlantic Health Care, won the 2016 EY Entrepreneur of the Year award in the Maryland region in the growth category. The award recognizes entrepreneurs who demonstrate excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance, and personal commitment to their businesses and communities.

Lane R. Rosen, M.D., RESD ’97, medical director of radiation oncology at Willis-Knighton Health System, was honored with the 2016 Louisiana State University–Shreveport Distinguished Alumni Award.

Mark R. Greenwood, M.D. ’00, was selected as the new primary care clinical program medical director with Intermountain Medical Group. Greenwood is a board-certified family medicine physician who has been practicing at Sevier Valley Clinic in Richfield, Utah, since 2003, and he has also served as the medical director in the medical group’s central rural region since 2012.

Samantha Brugmann, Ph.D. ’05, received the Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering (PECASE). Brugmann, an assistant professor of surgery at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, was among 105 researchers to receive the 2016 award, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

Jessica Langenhan, M.D. ’05, recently earned an M.B.A. with honors from the University of California–Los Angeles Anderson School of Management, graduating from the Fully Employed MBA program in June 2016. Langenhan was also named associate medical director of the substance abuse program at Laguna Treatment Hospital in July 2016.

Daniel O’Neill, M.D. ’13, will practice general internal medicine at the Neighborhood Health Center in Portland, Oregon, serving as the anchoring internal medicine physician for the new clinic site for Portland’s underserved populations. O’Neill is a primary care physician specializing in HIV and LGBT health, who recently completed his residency training in internal medicine at Virginia Mason Medical Center in Seattle.

Randall Owen, M.S.H.S. ’13, PA-C ’13, has been appointed as a research fellow in global health and social medicine at the Harvard Medical School for 2016–17. Owen, who completed his physician assistant surgical residency at the Norwalk Hospital/Yale School of Medicine, is a former medical operations specialist at NASA Johnson Space Center, where his research interests included the ethical and policy challenges surrounding the medical and surgical care delivery systems being developed to support long-duration space missions.

Andrace Deyampert, M.S.H.S. ’14, was among the recipients of the 2016 U.S. Food and Drug Administration Outstanding Service Award.

Jeff Farnsworth, DPT ’15, has been named director of physical therapy at the National Sports Medicine Institute in Virginia.